For any feature improvements, requests, comments, or bug reports, please leave your feedback in the field provided at the end of the article (must be logged into Zendesk).
The new Share feature is available for users during your free trial and if you upgrade to a Business Team account (2+ users).
You can share a diagram by clicking the Share button in the upper right corner of a saved diagram.
If your diagram is not saved/named, it will prompt you to do so first.
You also must have verified your email to share. If your email was not verified, you will receive a prompt to verify it first. After it has been verified, you can share the diagram.
Once you click the Share button, the share modal will appear with different options. By default you will be in the Link area.
Clicking on Create New Share Link creates a unique, private, and anonymized url you can share with anyone. This also activates the drop-down menu where you can specify the level of access the recipient has.
The default is Allow Commenting. This allows the recipient of the link to view and comment on the diagram.
Allow Editing allows the recipient of the link to view, comment and edit the diagram. This is similar to our previous Collaboration feature. You can click on Manage Collaborators which acts as a management tool for your diagram.
Here you can add multiple collaborators at once by entering their email and click Send.
This will send them an email from Gliffy inviting them to collaborate on your diagram. By default, this will create a 14 day trial for them if they do not already have an account (a user must have a Gliffy account to edit a Gliffy diagram).
If the user already has an account with Gliffy, they will be prompted to login with their existing email and password. A Gliffy account is only required for this specific level of sharing. The recipient can continue to collaborate with you after their trial has ended.
Once logged in, they will be able to see your diagram in the Gliffy viewer. If you have given them editing privileges they can click the Edit Diagram icon to edit the diagram in the Gliffy Editor.
Allow Viewing allows anyone with the link to view your diagram with no editing or commenting abilities.
Public on the Web is a read-only public document that anyone on the Internet can find and access (similar to our previous Publish feature).
By default the Diagram can be duplicated option will also be selected. If you do not want the recipient to be able to duplicate or use your diagram as a template, disable this option.
Click on the Copy button to copy the link. You can then use this link to send to anyone you wish.
Business individual accounts and Standard accounts will have Allow Viewing and Public on the Web options only.
You can remove access at any time by clicking on Deactivate Link. Click Deactivate Link again to confirm (you must deactivate each link individually currently). You can always regenerate a new code. This removes any public accessibility from the diagram.
You can quickly verify the status public/private status of a diagram by looking at the lock icon located next to the diagram name. If it shows a yellow, closed lock, the diagram is "private" and not publicly accessible on the internet. If the diagram has an open lock, it is public.
You can Embed your diagram into various websites and apps. The diagrams are private and only accessible to you and to where you choose to publish.
To embed a diagram, click on Share then click into the Embed tab.
By default no links are generated until you click on an application. If you wanted to embed your diagram in HipChat, for example, click on the HipChat icon.
This generates a code that is supported in the HipChat app. Pasting it there will show your Gliffy diagram. All changes show up when refreshed.
If you want to remove the embed links tied to your diagram, click on Deactivate All Embed Links.